Honoring David A. Bobilya's Excellence in Nonprofit Leadership

At Foellinger Foundation’s 60th Anniversary Character of Leadership celebration, we announced several exciting initiatives that reaffirm our commitment to excellent nonprofit leadership. We invested $250,000 for four-year project support for the Barbara Burt Innovative Leader Fund and $900,000 for four-year support in the Leadership Lab, and we also announced three-year support to Young Leaders of Northeast Indiana in the amount of $90,000, and an additional $112,500 for three-year support to the Alliance for Human Services.

Our final announcement, though, was a particularly special award that celebrates excellent nonprofit leaders.


The Foellinger Foundation’s Board of Directors has established the David A. Bobilya Excellence in Nonprofit Leadership Award. This award recognizes a current or recently retired board member who has demonstrated excellence in nonprofit board leadership.

FFDN 036 Anniversary Celebration Slides 5_16x96.jpg

In April of 2018, Foellinger Foundation, and our entire community, lost one of its greatest friends, advocates and leaders: Mr. David A. Bobilya.

David was a lifelong resident of Fort Wayne, and embodied the principles of accountability, responsibility, integrity and results that drive the work of Foellinger Foundation.

He was a model of grace, compassion and civility. His life displayed the character of leadership.

Fittingly, David was the recipient of the Sagamore of the Wabash, one of the highest awards given by the Indiana governor, based partly on leadership and community contributions.

He served on numerous boards of directors, including Pizza Hut, Parkview Hospital, Turnstone and, of course, Foellinger Foundation. Many nonprofits in our community will benefit from his vision, kindness and generosity for generations to come.

David served the Foundation for 16 years in various roles, providing strength and wisdom for many of its efforts, always exemplifying leadership.

Nominations are due by 5 PM on Friday, June 7, 2019. The award recipient will be announced at a special recognition program for all nominees in fall of 2019. The award will provide an operating grant of $25,000 to the recipient’s nominating organization.

Read the full nomination guidelines here.